Rule 5: “Can You See The Real Me?”

I had enough credits to graduate high school after the fall semester of my senior year.  I had always taken extra classes every semester.  I had zero intention of graduating early, that would have done nothing for me other than having to get a job !!  I wasn’t lazy, but I knew school was a lot easier than work !

100

So, for the spring semester I had choir, computer science and a math class.  I think I was done every day about 11:40 am.  One of the things I did to fill the time was to take a computer science class at a local junior college.  1 pm-3:30 pm on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

104

I would go home and make a quick sandwich for the drive to class and there was an FM radio station that would “track” an album every day at noon.  I would throw in a 90 minute cassette tape to record it and then listen to it when I got home later.  The station was a “classic rock” station and they played a lot of cool music that I would have never otherwise hear. Two albums stuck out.  One was “The Best of Jethro Tull” 1976.  WOW !!! What a great band, what great musicians !!

105

But, the one album that was played was literally an epiphany for me.

1973 “Quadrophenia” by The Who.

WOW ! WOW ! WOW !

Blew me away!!  I think the first song I heard was “The Real Me.”

The drumming, the bass line, the never ending crescendos of guitars and the ripping vocals !

Man I was hooked !!

101

Up until that time I mostly listened to the “oldies” station on the radio (late 50’s, early 60’s)  and didn’t really follow popular music of the day (1980).  I was also a huge Beatlemaniac.  I had all of their albums and knew every song forward and backwards.

Like I said, this was a musical epiphany for me and I have been a life long Who fan ever since. “Genius” is thrown around way too much in the world, but the Quadrophenia album showed Pete Townshend was a musical genius.

102