Lamb Shank Masala With Potatoes

NOTE : Post was written almost three months ago.

When I was growing up, my family never ate lamb.  I don’t think  it was until I was about 23 when I found a piece of lamb in the markdown bin at the local grocery store and bought it.  If I recall, it was a blade chop.  I put it on the grill and cooked it.  When I ate it, I thought “This tastes funny”. Not the kind of “funny” that results in gastronomical distress, but just different “funny”.  It didn’t taste bad, but it was definitely something that you had to want/like to eat. (Same as goat !!)  My wife’s family is Armenian, and in the past 25 years, we’ve eaten lamb chops with them a couple times every year.

So I saw a couple of lamb shanks that were marked down at the grocery store (each one here cost about $3.00).

What’s the apple corer out for ???

Hollowed out potatoes.

NEW !! “Po-Tat-O’s”

A little olive oil and sea salt on the spuds and a Masala sauce (from a bottle) on the lamb shanks.

I was surprised with how much meat there was on the shank.  I thought there was much more bone in them.

I know that lamb chops and leg of lamb can be cooked “rare”, but since I was not sure about the shanks, I cooked them for about 40 minutes.

This dish turned out quite fantastic !!!

Now, I am going to have to finally try cooking a leg of lamb !!

4 comments on “Lamb Shank Masala With Potatoes

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Love lamb shank. Its a British thing I think. Never seen lamb in an American restaurant – but then i’ve never seen Bison in the UK…

    • Matthew W says:

      This was my first lamb shank and I am quite fond of it !!
      Have you had Bison? I have and I was not to impressed with it. Also had Ostrich and “Beefalo” and they were all not very flavorful. Too lean methinks.

  2. sybaritica says:

    The potatoes look great!

Comments are closed.