Rule Five: Hot Girl With Five Speeds……………

I had a green Manta Ray when I was a kid.

We used to have competitions on the school sidewalk to see who could leave the longest skid mark on the sidewalk.

One day, Jimmy Bob was doing this.  He was coming in hot and we were all quite impressed with how fast he was going.

And then he slammed on the brake.

The front brake.

Kids today still speak of that wipeout on the school playground.

3 comments on “Rule Five: Hot Girl With Five Speeds……………

  1. My brother and both had Schwinn Sting rays with the 2-speed kickback rear hug…best bicycle I ever owned.

    • Matthew W says:

      Same here !!!! We had 7 people in our family and we had quite the collection of 1970’s bikes !!

      • I used to work for a bicycle dealership that sold Schwinn and Raleigh bicycles. I concluded that the Schwinns were a better bike, although heavier.
        Both brands came with lifetime guarantee on the frames. I never saw a Schwinn frame crack or break..Raleigh was a different story, but they never honored a claim.
        The rise of the BMX bike seemed to weed out the Schwinn as they produced none back in those days. Raleigh tried too, but the Mongoose ruled the BMX world in the 80s.

Comments are closed.