Pizza Night

Back when I was but a wee lad, “Pizza Night” at our house was usually on Sunday.  Now, for us, pizza night was extra special because:

(1)          We got to eat in the living room and watch TV.

(2)          We got to drink soda.

As far as watching TV, we usually got to watch “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom” and “The Wonderful World of Disney.”

As for the soda, pizza night was the only time we got to drink it.  Unlike today where many people have substituted soda for their dinner beverage with their meals, it was at one time a real treat for us. I personally used to drink too much soda, but about 7-8 years ago I cut out drinking soda.   It wasn’t because of the calories, (been drinking diet soda since the days of “Tab” and saccharin.) It just seemed to make me feel “bloaty.” Very fond memories of drinking ice cold Coca Cola from Wyler grape jelly jar glasses.

Old time pizza.  Back in the day, “Chef Boyardee Pizza Mix”  was da bomb.

Old_pizza

Now, when you look at the picture, that’s exactly what the pie looked like.  Bread, sauce and a dusting of yellow like stuff.  Always had to add some real cheese to it!!!

That’s pretty much what we had for pizza until my mother bought a pizza stone.  Then the pizzas got real good.

Here’s a recent Pizza Night:

barnsnargle

A nice pan full of sweet Italian sausage.  Unfortunately, no fennel.

barnsnargleA

A very rare action shot of the wife shredding the mozzarella cheese.

barnsnargle

Now, as far as the sauce, I don’t care too much for it.  So I am going to use  some diced  tomatoes with green chilies in it. (just like the can says)

barnsnargle

DOH !!!!!

That’s a Homer Simpson joke !!

barnsnargle

DOH !!! With sausage and green olives.

barnsnargle

Into the screaming hot oven.  About 450 degrees.  Well, that might be screaming to some people.

barnsnargle

About 30 minutes later.  I like to have my cheese browned.

barnsnargleA

The wife likes hers cooked on the pizza stone.

barnsnargle

No, not all of these were drank with the pizza.

I picked the “Chocolate Red” to have with my pizza.

Now, I had seen “Chocolate Red” at the store before, but never bought it because I wasn’t sure what it would taste like, but the wife brought it home.  It was incredible !!!!!  Not the kind of wine you would drink every day, but it did well for pizza night.  It was only $4.00 too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Between “Pizza Night” and the time I wrote this post,  we had enough leftover cheese and sausage to make “Taco Shell Pizzas.”

7 comments on “Pizza Night

  1. lolarugula says:

    I love making homemade pizza and boy do I remember the Chef Boyardee ones! lol! Thanks for the great memory.

    • Matthew W says:

      Pizza is fun to make. And As I wrote about this, I thought that I should go and buy a package of the Chef BoyArdee pizza mi just to see what it’s like to day.
      Thanks for stopping in !

  2. Smash says:

    Damn, this post made me hanker for homemade pizza so badly. Also, soda was an incredible treat for me during childhood. Once a week, usually on a Friday night when we got to stay up late and watch a movie together as a family. Great post!

  3. trixfred30 says:

    Man where do I start – wine for $4 – thats like £2.50!! And the pizza really does look da bomb (christ i learned that off the kids, or was it from Breaking Bad – I love that show) And we never drank soda when we were kids – but I am addicted to low sugar ribena – its like drinking velvet!

    • Matthew W says:

      The more soda I drink, the less room for wine.
      $6.00 wine is usually the high price point for me.
      Sometimes I can get $10+ wine for cheap when the store is clearing out the inventory, but that is rather rare.

Comments are closed.