Steak And Potatoes

Ahhhhh, yet another of my many simple pleasures of life !!

MEAT !!!!

Now, I really have in the past several years eaten a lot less steak then I used to.  It has just become far to expensive to have as often as I would like to have it.

But in this case, due to some good shopping skills and good luck, I was able to get this steak for only $4.00 instead of the packaged price of $8.00.

And as luck would have it, I found myself alone for dinner, and decided it was “Steak & Potato” time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A nice bone in Rib Eye, nice and marbled.  Hard to believe that this steak goes for over $10 lb !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Real simple prep.

Black pepper and some garlic salt

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Too lazy to go outside and fire the grill up, I think it would require cleaning the garage to find the grill anyway.

So, the kitchen mainstay of the cast iron skillet will do very fine indeed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ooooooohhhhh, a very nice sear and delightful crust !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah, I said something about potatoes being involved.

Now at one time, those things may have been connected to a potato, but they get shredded, processed, pressed into a shape and “VIOLA”, Tater Tot.  I suppose that there is enough potato DNA there to legally call them potatoes for this post.

Also made a little compound butter with fresh garlic.

There were no survivors.

6 comments on “Steak And Potatoes

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Who could want for more than this?

  2. Dave says:

    less than 7 ingredients… not counting whatever is in tater tots, I guess. I should have gone with something similar, but last night made the worst pizza ever… it turns out that I shouldn’t have used 10 y.o. flour… frugality gone wrong. 🙂

    • Matthew W says:

      Pizza, that’s the next post.

      I was listening to a radio show several years ago about Christmas baking, and the host asked the master baker, “What’s the most important item…” and the answer was, “Fresh ingredients.” If your spices, or seasoning, ingredients etc are more than a year old, they are probably bad. (and give you bad results)

  3. cmblake6 says:

    Thank you so very much. I have to change my t-shirt now. I suppose I could just let the drool evaporate..

Leave a Reply

