New Addition To The Family……..

I think I’m getting better at my bacon making process, but there is one thing that’s lacking.  I like my bacon thick cut/slabby for making sammiches, but it really doesn’t seem to taste like  “regular” bacon unless it gets cut thinner.  I have reached my limits for manually slicing the bacon as thin as I can.

So, I popped into a thrift store on the way home one day and “POW”, there was a meat slicer on the shelf.  It’s in very good condition and works “fine”.  $12.00……..

The problems are:

1:     I have to hold the meat with my left hand and force it against the blade and keep it flat

2:     My left thumb has to hold a safety tab to slide the tray forward.

3:     The entire unit slides forward and sideways when operating.

I was able to get thinner slices, but the next batch I will go a little thinner yet.

I am also going to mount it on a piece of wood so it won’t slide or move too much.

14 comments on “New Addition To The Family……..

  1. Mark says:

    Looks like an emergency room visit in the future…

  2. justinoguy54 says:

    The carpenters finally figured out that using a piece of wood to push something small on the table saw wasn’t nearly as embarrassing as only being able to pick their nose with The Other hand.

    A foot control power switch, bypass the safety you’re holding while pushing and I’m betting there is a tool available for shoving meat into the chipper from the restaurant supply. This doesn’t look like it would work, it’s just closer to what I’m thinking than I can type. Aaand it’s ridiculously priced..

    Piece of wood, sharpened hardwood, short ones, dowels, and a handle.

  3. WDS says:

    Geez Matthew, that looks just like one I have in the shed. What brand is yours?

  4. Jeff Id says:

    Those things are awesome but insanely dangerous. i love ours. It has a nice slide and bearing for the meat holder with protection for your hand. We use it for ham and other things too.

  5. Don Curton says:

    I’ve seen pork belly for sale at Costco and been really tempted to buy one or two and smoke them. Just not sure whether I’d aim for a smoked pork brisket or actually try to cure it as bacon. I’ll need to read up on technique. I know I ordered smoked pork belly from a local BBQ joint and it was basically like fatty brisket that was shredded up. Good stuff.

Leave a comment