Hot Pizza

Oh lucky me it’s pizza night again !!

Tonight it is going to a spicy little number……………

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Simple ingredients here.  Nothing too complicated.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some nice, fresh, locally made sweet pork sausage.  Sometimes I like it with the fennel seed, sometimes not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I try my best not to buy pre shredded cheese.  There is a noticeable difference in taste with the block cheese.  Some of the manufactures put cellulose on the shredded cheese to keep it from sticking together in the package, and even with the premium brands, it is noticeable.

It’s not really too much extra work to either shred it by hand or pull out the food processor.

As a child, I can remember many pizza nights where I would have to shred 3-4 pounds of fresh mozzarella on pizza night with a hand grater.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am using a pre-made thin crust for my crust.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All cooked up.

The cheese gets nice and browned and the crust gets crispy.

The combination of the pepper jack cheese and the hot tomatoes put a nice zing on my pizza.

9 comments on “Hot Pizza

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Starving – I could stuff that right now

  2. Ethan May says:

    My first reaction? “Why did I wait so long to make this pizza?” My second: “Why did I only make one?!” I’ve been batting around this idea of a pizza very loosely playing off a Provençal tian — essentially a layered vegetable gratin with thin slices of summer produce, olive oil, cheese and herbs, such as thyme or basil, and baked in the oven and served as a side dish. Seeing as I’ve been buying yellow and green zucchini like it was going out of style, and the basil was right at the next table this week, and I’ve been on a bit of a lemon bender , I played these flavors off of each other and friends, if this is any indication of the things I can throw together at home when I believe I’m uninspired to cook, let this be a lesson to me because it’s been too long since we had a dinner this tasty.

  3. I’ve got pizza on my mind, and specifically, mozzarella cheese. I checked the cupboard, and I’ve got everything else. Pizza sauce, mushrooms, Parmesan cheese and all the ingredients for the dough. Mozzarella is on the shopping list. I have not been told I’m obsessed with pizza, but perhaps I’m getting there. As for the mozzarella, I go back and forth when it comes to which type of cheese I use for my homemade pizza. I am very picky about the sauce I use on my pizza, but not so much about the cheese. Perhaps that is because I have not found one that is, for me, a stand out product. I like both the low-moisture and fresh mozzarella cheese on pizza. Which one is a matter of convenience generally. Photo used under Creative Commons license by RBerteig/Flickr .

  4. Tonia Stout says:

    My first reaction? “Why did I wait so long to make this pizza?” My second: “Why did I only make one?!” I’ve been batting around this idea of a pizza very loosely playing off a Provençal tian — essentially a layered vegetable gratin with thin slices of summer produce, olive oil, cheese and herbs, such as thyme or basil, and baked in the oven and served as a side dish. Seeing as I’ve been buying yellow and green zucchini like it was going out of style, and the basil was right at the next table this week, and I’ve been on a bit of a lemon bender , I played these flavors off of each other and friends, if this is any indication of the things I can throw together at home when I believe I’m uninspired to cook, let this be a lesson to me because it’s been too long since we had a dinner this tasty.

  5. Pizza Tip #3 When you’re finished assembling the pizza, sprinkle some oregano on top of the cheese just before you toss it in the oven. It brings out the flavor of the cheese like nothing else.

  6. Get Smart says:

    When I make a salad, I always use shredded cheese, I also use it on scrambled eggs.

  7. Noelle U. Puckett says:

    My first reaction? “Why did I wait so long to make this pizza?” My second: “Why did I only make one?!” I’ve been batting around this idea of a pizza very loosely playing off a Provençal tian — essentially a layered vegetable gratin with thin slices of summer produce, olive oil, cheese and herbs, such as thyme or basil, and baked in the oven and served as a side dish. Seeing as I’ve been buying yellow and green zucchini like it was going out of style, and the basil was right at the next table this week, and I’ve been on a bit of a lemon bender , I played these flavors off of each other and friends, if this is any indication of the things I can throw together at home when I believe I’m uninspired to cook, let this be a lesson to me because it’s been too long since we had a dinner this tasty.

Comments are closed.