Backyard Fire Pit

NOTE:

This is from 06/2014

Just for fun I thought I would add a little “fire feature” to the backyard.

At the thrift store I found this metal pot for $2.00 and thought it would make a good fire pit.  What I really wanted to find was the bottom half of an old Weber kettle grill but could not find one.  Sometimes they get left on the curb on garbage day but they get scooped up rather quickly by the people that go around and collect recycling metal.
Pit_001

A small hole was dug and the pot placed in it.

Pit_002

Dressing it up a bit with some stones.

Pit_003

I have plenty of small branches and project wood bits to use in the pit.

Pit_004

Quite the ingenious roasting stick if I may say so my self.

A couple stainless steel skewers and a couple of hose clamps.

Pit_005

Best part is it’s plenty long.

Pit_006

Two wieners at a time.

Pit_007

Picnic in the backyard.

Pit_008

This is on anther day that I think we had the in-laws over and needed to make many dogs at a time.

Pit_009

Letting my daughter have a turn at rotating the dogs.

Pit_010

I live in a city and legally we can’t have a “bonfire” so any fire needs to be contained.  There’s an almost unlimited way to make a fire pit they way that I did.  I’ve already had a couple of ideas to improve it but am limited by the size of my backyard and garden.

4 comments on “Backyard Fire Pit

  1. cheergerm says:

    A cool bit of innovation there Mr Bacon.

  2. theoldsargesays says:

    Made in the shade dude- very cool.

Leave a Reply

