Bacon: Pizza and Soup

So many years ago when I got married, a regular feature for myself and the wife was “Pizza Night” on Saturday night.  This usually involved homemade pizza, reading the Sunday Chicago Tribune and watching a movie on TV.  Now with my 10 year old, we have been dong the same but with a DVD/Blu Ray.

So we have a pound of some fresh, thick cut bacon and I had planned to put some on my pizza and use the rest for making my split pea soup on Sunday for my week of lunches.

Soupy_01

Sometimes I cut it up to start, and sometimes I leave it whole and cut it up after cooking.  Does it make a difference?

Soupy_02

Mmmmm, getting crispy !

Soupy_03

With the bacon all done, I can fry the sausage.  Pork sausage fried in bacon grease !!!!  Woooooooooooooooo !!!

Soupy_04

Sausage, bacon and some green olives.

The wife has come up with a pretty good (and easy) recipe for the dough that is very good for thin crusts.

Soupy_05

Now, on to the next day and making my infamous “Split Pea and Bacon Soup.”

While at the grocery store I saw on the discount cart the the beef broth marked down to $1.00 and thought that I could find a use for it.  I thought that perhaps it would add something to my split pea soup.

Soupy_06

Very simple ingredients.  The onion flakes are a new item for this soup.

Soupy_07

Sigh !!!

Since I live in a house with bacon moochers, this is all that was left of the bacon.  Enough to nibble on, but not enough for the soup.

Soupy_08

Now, when I poured in the first container of the BEEF broth, I realized right away that I had “overbeefed” the soup.  I mean whoda thunk that “BEEF Broth” was going to be so beefy??

So, what to do??

BEEF !!!

I had a package in the fridge and thought that it would be interesting to now try that.  There was $2.00 coupon so it was also cheap beef.

Soupy_09

I only used one of the pieces of beef for the soup and saved the other for another dinner.

Soupy_10

I never learn sometimes.

No matter how I cook my soup, it always boils over and makes a mess on the stove.

Yes, I cleaned this up.

Soupy_11

I am putting the beef in raw, so when I reheat it at work, the meat will be just right, not over cooked.

Soupy_12

My daughter was watching me cook and she wanted a sample of the soup:

“That’s good soup daddy.”

Soupy_13

2 comments on “Bacon: Pizza and Soup

  1. Carolyn Chan says:

    THAT’S BETTER – the world is all ok again with this post 🙂 Pork sausage in rendered bacon fat would be the BEST !! Could you please share your wife’s recipe for pizza dough ?

Leave a Reply

