Bacon Fried Catfish Nuggets

I often stop at the grocery store on the way home after going to the gym.  I am often not looking for anything in particular, but sometimes something just jumps out at me and says “Eat Me!”

Today it was a nice package of Catfish nuggets.

Barnsnargle

I got the fry mix at work for free.  Yes it says “Chicken Fry”, but I would think that it should do well enough for my catfish.

Did you happen to see on the package of the “Chicken Fry” where it said “SPICY?”

I didn’t either.

After I dumped the mix into my bowl, I stuck my nose in the bag and gave it a good inhale.

It cleaned out my sinuses, my ears and other orifices !!!

Barnsnargle

I like to put the fish in a closed container and give it a good shake and that usually gives them all a good coating.

Barnsnargle

A nice dredge and the catfish is ready to go.

Bacon Grease

Ohhhh !!

The magic ingredient…….

Bacon grease.

Barnsnagle

Doing my frying outdoors to prevent the “greasy fish stink” inside my house.

The catfish is getting all crispy and golden brown.

Barnsnargle

I think the grease was too dirty to even try to strain and reuse, so it was disposed of.

That bacon had a good life.

Barnsnargle

All the catfish couldn’t fit in the frying pan at once, so I made two batches and used the grill as a warmer.

Barnsnargle

An excellent plate of beans, slaw and bacon fried catfish !!

Leave a Reply

