Happy Fourth of July !!

CRIKEYS am I behind on my holidays !!

Well, life happens…………………….

So my mother calls and wants me to come over on the Fourth and cook.

I actually managed not to have to work on the Fourth so there was no big rush in trying to cook for everyone.

My contribution was going to be my “Boneless Stuffed Wings.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wings, Cream Cheese and some small Jalapeno peppers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m never going to be good enough to be a prep monkey in a restaurant, but I’m getting pretty good at de-boning wings.

The bones and bits were saved to make soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found that it was very hard to use a larger pepper filled with cream cheese and insert into the wing without tearing the wing and there was actually too much pepper in each bite.  So I decided to go with using just strips of some smaller peppers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All boned out and stuffed !!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My mother had about 20 pounds of steak to cook and several packages of bratwurst.   I only did about a 1/4 of the steak and none of the bratwurst.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A little BBQ sauce charred up on the wings !!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The cherry tree had a good supply of cherries so I picked a bunch.  My mothers spends maybe one day a month making and freezing pie crusts so at a moments notice she can make a pie, so these became desert.

If any of you ladies need to know, cherry pie is my favorite ( Lemon Meringue a close second)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A number of years ago, we took down a corn crib on my dad’s property and he used bits of the innard workings to make a nice planter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crib_001

Crib_002

Crib_003

Crib_004

2 comments on “Happy Fourth of July !!

  1. i always love to stuffed the chicken wings,usually with chopped mushrooms and prawn, glazed with honey soy sauce and then grilled..
    this is kinda my sister’s signatures dish….

    • Matthew W says:

      I did stuff them once with a mushroom stuffing, but I think I overfilled then and it wasn’t as good as it could have been.
      Stuffed with prawn sounds good.
      Thanks for stopping by !

Leave a Reply

