Father’s Day 2013

Hard to believe that this is my 10th Father’s Day.

What better way to celebrate than a pile of charred animal flesh (and meat like products).

We were expecting to have about 12 people this year, slightly more than usual, so there will need to be lots of chow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No, I’m not ashamed to use boxed burgers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A nice slab of back ribs.  I would rather have had St. Louis style, but couldn’t find them when I was shopping.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was about that time to disassemble the grill and clean it up thoroughly.  Some of the gas vents were clogged and needed to be reamed out a little.  I think this grill may be close to 8 years old and I’m surprised that only the top piece had any blowouts on it. (Upper right hand corner)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you look at  the pieces in the previous picture, you can see the little round tab that goes into the little round holes in this picture.  There were little teeny, tiny cotter keys that held them in place that were a #*#!& to get out with big stumpy hands like mine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All cleaned out and ready to produce large amounts of BTU’s !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Going to make a big nasty pot of baked beans and of course we need bacon for that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

BACON !!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Can we have some more beans Mr. Taggert?”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mmmm, bacon bits

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Toss in some brown sugar and a good zap of Tabasco and it’s ready for the cooking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My daughter likes grilled onions so I will make that too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh look, more bacon.

The beans were prepped the day before and I needed to make some bacon for the salad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is where I had an ABRE (Adverse Bacon Related Event).  I had just got finished with spooning out the bacon drippings into a jar when I carelessly tipped the jar over.  The good news is that no bacon was lost, no one was hurt and parts of the stove and the floor were cleaned that may have not ever been so cleaned !!

The grease was on top of the stove and spilled down most of the front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So here we have our copious amounts charred animal flesh and the meat like products (Hot dogs).  These were actually high quality dogs and were very good.  I have the onions charring in the cast iron skillet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OH !!!

Ribs !!

Dang those were great !!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Platter of meat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Salad and deviled eggs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first plate of food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My dad has a large patch of rhubarb so my mother made a rhubarb pie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was even able to take time while cooking to work up the compost pile too !!!

10 comments on “Father’s Day 2013

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Making me very hungry – i;ve never seen beans like those! As fot eh BBQ mine is 2 years old and is in a much worse state

  2. scroungelady says:

    There must be a recipe for bacon and rhubarb.

  3. Karen says:

    Hope you had a great father’s day…I know you ate well. I need to get my grill cleaned as I know it will work much better. Thank you for the inspiration.

  4. Carolyn Chan says:

    Great way to celebrate anything – with lots of char-grilled meat 🙂

Leave a Reply

