Chicken Masala Surprise

I had some rice, chicken and a bottle of masala and thought that I would cook up some “Chicken Masala Surprise.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So here we have the whole chicken, ready to be parted out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a couple of minutes later, chicken parts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of the left over bits.  Normally I would cook the wings with the rest of the chicken but this time I thought that I would use them in making some chicken soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So we are going to take a little break from the Masala while I make my chicken soup.

All the leftover chicken bits go into the part for cooking

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s safety tip:

As some one that has had two bouts of food poisoning (one confirmed one from CHICKEN), I am actually not too concerned about  getting sick again but since I am responsible for a nine year old, I will clean all of the kitchen utensils with hot soapy water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shocking, but I am going to put some vegetables into my soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Choppity, chop,chop,chop !!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Veggie bits going with the boiling chicken bits.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All the bits cooked up and ready for picking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All the chicken bits all picked.

From left to right:

Bones, bits to be whizzed up in the soup and the chicken bits to put in the soup whole.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found a can of mushrooms in the cupboard and thought that should go in as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Adding a bit of barley just at the end so as to not overcook the barley since the soup will be frozen and reheated in the future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, now that the soup is done, we can get back to the “Chicken Masala Surprise.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The surprise is that while I was chopping up the chicken, I thought “Why aren’t I putting this chicken on the grill?”

So I did.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 comments on “Chicken Masala Surprise

  1. cmblake6 says:

    Simple, delightful to my tongue’s imagination. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

