Mother’s Day 2013

We had the In-Laws and my parents over for Mother’s Day this year and had a nice little cook out.

Portilo’s   has a very good “Chicken Pecan Salad” that my mother usually gets when at Portilio’s and I thought that I would try to come up with something similar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Instead of using a Dijon sauce, I went with Raspberry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Melt the butter and mix with brown sugar, tabasco  and Worcestershire sauce.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spread out the nuts in a single layer on a baking sheet at 350 degrees for about ten minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All toasty and candied up (I could have ate them all at that point).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

MEAT !!!!!!

A nice slab of ribs and some one inch thick boneless pork chops.

I would have liked to have had the bone in pork chops, but I knew that several of our guests would have not finished a whole chop and did NOT want to have that wasted.

I also seriously over estimated the amount of meat needed.  There are four more chops off to the right.  The good news is that I had pork chops for my lunch the rest of the week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s the salad all tossed up.

This was probably the best dish that I have ever made that did not include meat or potato.  Next time I will sprinkle BACON on it to take it to “eleven”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wife made a loaf of “Dutch Oven Bread”.

6 comments on “Mother’s Day 2013

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Those pork steaks look amazing – you dont get stuff like that over here..

  2. emanuelle says:

    looks delicious!!!

  3. Angel says:

    yummy recipes! Have an awesome holiday weekend:)

  4. cmblake6 says:

    Fabulous, Matthew! That looked like some seriously awesome food!

Leave a Reply

