#@&!&^ Windows 8 !!!!

Ok, the good news is that I got a new laptop (the better news is that it was free and you all know how I like free).

The bad part is………..

No, check that the really, really, really bad part is that it has Windows 8.

Go out and find 10 thesauruses and look up all of the synonyms for “crap”.   That would sufficiently be my opinion of Windows 8 Metro.

I had read many reviews of computers with Windows 8 and while there were a few (very few) good reviews, the most were not favorable.  Now, I would consider myself to be at least, an above average computer user.  I survived ME, 98, 2000 and I have tolerated Vista.  But Windows 8 is the worst of the lot.  Windows 8 Metro was obviously designed for touchscreens which would be just swell if I had a tablet or a smart phone.  Hey Microsoft !!!!!!  I want my laptop to be a productivity tool, not an entertainment center.

My recommendation would be to NOT by a computer that has Windows 8 on it.

Now, if you are interested, this is the laptop I got for free:

Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5320

http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/retail-product.jsp?poid=2000039904

I got it mostly for the internet and the history and genealogy projects that I am always working on.

Now, how I got it for free.

There is a search engine that I use called “Swagbucks.” (Completely free)  I can earn “Swagbucks by just using their search engine and then use them to purchase Amazon gift cards.  Since 2010, I have earned over $300 just from the Swagbucks site.  There also have been a number of survey groups that I had participated in (still currently belong to one that I can get $10-$15 every three months).  All told, since 2010, I have earned close to $1,000 in Amazon gift cards.

If you are interested in “Swagbucks”, you can use this link to sign up (and I do get a kickback for it).

http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/duckman2000

3 comments on “#@&!&^ Windows 8 !!!!

  1. Bill Powell says:

    Loved Windows 7, loaded 8 on mine and my wife’s laptops and desktops. I think it has some great features and, once I added a third-party start menu back, I like it. (I think MS will have to add this back – desktop computers need it) Of course, I liked Windows Vista too – used it daily with my business and my son, an avid gamer w/custom computer had no issues with it. Windows 7 is also a great operating system. Stable and versatile – can’t complain. The real Windows issue is/has always been it’s susceptibility to viri. HATE people who spread THAT crap, but it seems likely to me that if there were as many Unix-based or Mac as PC’s, they’d have much the same problem – the animals that write and spread this crap work with the numbers.

    • Matthew W says:

      I thought about using the third party start menu but decided against it. I have a desktop and a laptop with Vista and think they are fine, but would have OK with just having XP on them.
      Completely agree about the overrated vulnerability of Windows compared to Mac/Unix.
      Thanks for stopping by !

  2. […]  Get a docking station for my $#@%! Win 8 laptop […]

Leave a Reply

