Gruel !!!

GRUEL !!!

All right, what did you think when you read “Gruel?”

Gruel has a negative image because it gets associated with stalags,gulags, prison camps, 19th century English orphanages etc.

Gruel is simply a grain that is boiled and has a high water to meal ratio.

I’m not sure if what I made would be considered “Gruel” because it has meat and mushrooms in it, but just looking at the finished product, it is gruelish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Several months ago the grocery store had a reset and the dried mushrooms were marked down to 50 cents a bag and I bought about six bags.  I did not like the way the mushrooms turned out when I made them before, so I thought that I would boil them up here, wiz them up and use that for the base of the gruel.

I also bought a package of “pork neck bones”.  At the time that I bought them, I thought that they looked funny.  I know my pig parts and these did not look like pork neck bones.  They turned out to be various cut offs from pork items and for $1.20 a pound, I think that I came out ahead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Browning the pork.

Very simple seasoning, salt, ground pepper and red chili flakes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took the pork parts out , added the water and boiled the two packages of the dried mushrooms.

I wizzed the mushrooms up, added the barley and then tossed the cut up pork back in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This pot made enough for lunch all week, plus a bowl to sample.

Turned out gosh darn, nasty good. !!!

One comment on “Gruel !!!

Leave a Reply

