The Oxtail Incident

If you are an old movie buff, you would recognize to the play on words with the Henry Fonda Movie, “The Oxbow Incident” but not to be confused with the George Peppard movie, “Operation Crossbow.”

I have for some time wanted to use Oxtails in a dinner.  I told my wife that a time ago and she looked at me like I had three heads and was speaking in tongue. So I will take the opportunity of her being away and being on my own for dinner and make myself an Oxtail dinner.  Most of the recipes that I found involved just making a stew.  Up to the very time that I made this dinner, I was still debating as to whether or not I should just cook the Oxtails on the grill.

The Menu:

Oxtails

Mashed potatoes

Gravy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes carnivores, there will be vegetables involved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Broth, wine and the guest of honor, the meat !!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Dutch Oven belonged to my wife’s aunt that passed away about 15 years ago, and it is an essential tool to have in the kitchen.  A little oil and some garlic with the browned meat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of the ingredients come together.  I brought this to a boil and then put it in the oven at about 200 degrees for 3 hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meat,meat and meat

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

AHA !! Strain the vegetables and toss them !!!!

I used about 2x liquid than I should have, so there was way too much Au Jus.  I used about half of it and thickened it with a bit of rue.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meat meets my world famous butter extreme mashed potatoes.

I had extremely high expectations for this dinner.  I was sorely disappointed.  With the first fork full that I pulled off of the bone, I looked at it at thought “pot roast.”  And when I tasted it, I was right, it did taste just like pot roast.  Not that I am not a fan of an occasional Sunday dinner of pot roast, but I really thought that the Oxtail was going to be something else.

I am not afraid to try something in the kitchen and fail, and the list of things that I have tried and would never do again is very short.  But this is on the list.  I will again cook and gladly eat Ox Tail, but not cooked like this.  I will come up with a grilled version.

2 comments on “The Oxtail Incident

  1. trixfred30 says:

    I need to know what you thought it would be like. It certainly looks like you did the right thing with it!

Leave a Reply

