Leg of Lamb and Roasted Yukon Golds

NOTE : This is an event that occurred several months ago, and is finally being published.

As stated in another post about lamb, my family and myself were not lamb eaters when I was growing up.  But cooking a Leg of Lamb has always been on my “To Do List” for cooking.  Now, one of the problems with doing a Leg of Lamb is that it is usually a very large piece of meat and quite out of my price range. (Unless I was hosting a large event).

I was lucky enough shortly after Easter to find a partial cut of a Leg of Lamb that was less than $10.00, so I bought it.

A very nice looking piece of meat !!!

Just a few simple ingredients.  My wife had some fresh thyme from the garden that was added.  The thyme, rosemary, garlic (lots of that) and the oil were rubbed on and the Lamb went into a plastic zip type bag in the fridge overnight

Out on the grill in the cast iron skillet.

Oh golly !!! It is looking good and smelling even better !!

All done !!!

I knew that there would be a fair amount of fat that would be rendered from the lamb as it was cooking, but was not sure as to how much fat and if I wanted to have the potatoes cook in it as well.  As it turned out, roasting the potatoes in the lamb fat may well be one of the top ten best cooking things that I have ever done. I can not even begin to describe how good they tasted, except to say that it was almost like frying the potato whole in a gallon of butter.

I knew that lamb was good rare, so I cooked it so.  I made a big pot of schezwan rice and had that and the lamb for the rest of the week in my lunches.

5 comments on “Leg of Lamb and Roasted Yukon Golds

  1. trixfred30 says:

    Looks like that would last a month!

Leave a Reply

