Knife Honer

One of my favorite television shows to watch is “Cook’s Country”.

I grew up watching my mother cook in the kitchen (and she’s a top notch cook), but it’s fun to watch the show and find out how many things we do wrong in the kitchen !!

One regular section of the show is product testing.  One week they tested electric knife sharpeners and this is the one that was the best:

http://wusthofknifesharpener.org/chefs-choice-130-knife-sharpener

Try as I might, I just could not justify spending $150.00 for an electric knife sharpener.

So having watched meat cutters sharpen their cutting tools with a hand held sharpener, I ended up buying this:

Not the knives, just the (sharpener).

It was only about $15.00 at Wal Mart and it does a fantastic job of putting sharp edges on my 20 year old dull knives.

After I saw that episode of Cooks Country about the home model of the electric knife sharpener, I saw an episode of Alton Brown suggesting that the home sharpeners will do more damage to the knife than good.

I still have the original Chicago knife set that I got as a wedding gift 20 years ago.  They have been used and abused but the honer has made a difference.  Some day, I would like to take the knives to a professional to have sharpened.  The two knives in the picture above are knives that do not belong to that set, but that I have purchased.  If I had to only use two knives for the rest of my life, those would be the two.

7 comments on “Knife Honer

  1. Andrew says:

    Matthew,

    I like the new format btw. I have not been surfing the interweb lately, so this is my first chance to say…”Nice”

    Knife honing…I think we might be brothers from another mother. I have a few tips to share and a few questions, but the girlfriends kids are over due for a trip to the park, so hopefully more later…

    I love good knives, and hate paying retail. Check this out, many top quality knives have lifetime guarantees…think Craftsman hand tools. If your wrench breaks you hand it to the guy at Sears and he gives you a new one, right? So I find a beat up Heinkles pairing knife at a garage sale years ago, with about 1/4 inch of the tip busted off. I buy it for $1. I drive to The Bon Marche (Macy’s acquired them awhile ago). I hand them the knife, they hand me a new one. No paperwork, no questions, and no issues. I spend $1 and get a $45 knife.

    So whenever I am at a thrift store or garage sale I keep my eyes peeled.

    I will explain how I acquired this knife for free later…

    http://www.125west.com/p-3516-fdick-premier-plus-chefs-splitting-knife.aspx

    Andrew

  2. trixfred30 says:

    I’m kind of hoping my new knives will last the distance. At least the handles can’t fall off

  3. Andrew says:

    Good knives will go the distance, and with minimal care they can be heirlooms I have a rather modest, eclectic collection. (maybe I should take a picture, lol) The only one I paid retail price for cost me $4. It is a bread knife from Japan with a laminated bamboo handle. I honestly cannot find a better bread knife.

    I was in the middle writing a lengthier comment about caring for good knives…when LIFE interrupted…so I guess it was not meant to be. Maybe later…

    But a quick anecdote…

    I was fortunate to be at a very nice birthday bash, at a small winery in Walla Walla, Washington. A friend rented the place for the weekend for his wife’s 40th B-day. He flew in the chef from the County Club he was a member of. One night another guest raided the kitchen, we all had permission, however this person used one of the chefs knives and left it dirty in the sink…

    The chef walked…

    • Matthew W says:

      Ahh, I remember the good ol’ days when I could fly my chef in !!!

      One of my wife’s most annoying habit is LEAVING KNIVES IN THE SINK !!!!
      Did she miss that episode of kitchen safety??

      Chefs can be a little compulsive about their knives.

      • Hey…I never said I flew in my chef! Heck, I could barely afford the gas money to drive there at the time…

        “One of my wife’s most annoying habit is LEAVING KNIVES IN THE SINK !!!!”

        You are a lucky man!

Leave a Reply

