Happy St. Patrick’s Day !!!

Well, here’s another post that isn’t as timely as it should be !!

I bought the beer and the corned beef about 3 days after St. Pat’s.

I don’t  “celebrate” that day.

Boiled potatoes :  Bleh

Boiled cabbage: Bleh,bleh,bleh

Corned beef: Corning a brisket is a waste of a good piece of meat.

But the corned beef was marked down after the holiday and if you bought two 12 packs of  Irish beer, you got $3.00 off the corned beef.  And, if you bough the two 12 packs of beer, there is a $10.00 mail in rebate.

I’m a sucker for deals.

Both the Harp and the Smithwick are outstanding beers !!

There are both much stronger, heavier and fuller than the usual MGD 64 Light that I buy.

I ended up wrapping the corned beef in foil and cooked it outside on the grill for about two hours.  Came out pretty well for being corned beef.

5 comments on “Happy St. Patrick’s Day !!!

  1. Andrew says:

    St Pat’s day…I thought it was Easter Sunday today…

    My girlfriends little kids will be with their dad on Sunday, so we did a quickie ‘the real meaning of Easter’ for about 10 minutes this morning…and promised to do a big egg hunt sometime next week, weather pending, lol.

    Most of our Holy Day’s have become Holey Daze anyway…or maybe Whole E Dazed…all too fake and commercialized as far as I am concerned.

    If you want a more complete recount of St Pat… Jack Cahill wrote a great book, ‘How the Irish saved civilization: the untold story of Ireland’s heroic role from the fall of Rome to the rise of medieval Europe’

    Way more interesting!

    http://www.amazon.com/Irish-Saved-Civilization-Hinges-History/dp/0385418493

  2. trixfred30 says:

    wait till you see what we call corned beef in the UK…

  3. Andrew says:

    @Mathew I do not claim to be an expert on Irish History either…well kinda, BA in International Studies, but nothing formal since then, but I do love to read, lol.

    That being said, here is a brief quote from a ‘reviewer’ on Amazon that I liked.

    ” Exactly what I would have written — and I’m only half-way into this delicious yarn.”

    Also, it is pretty meaty! If ones knowledge of Irish history consists of Lou Holtz, Joe Montana and Digger Phelps…well you might be disappointed and/or bored with the book, lol.

    I liked it, but I have been called crazy before.

    From Cahills website:

    How the Irish Saved Civilization spent nearly two years on the New York Times Bestseller List, attaining the #2 spot on January 12, 1997. With over 1,250,000 copies in print, its sales are increasing annually as it is being adopted into Western civilization college courses throughout the USA. It has been published throughout the English-speaking world (UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa), and in translation throughout Latin America (in Portuguese and Spanish), Europe (in Czech, Dutch, German, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, and Spanish), and Asia (in standardized Chinese and Japanese). How the Irish Saved Civilization also became a bestseller in Italy.

    @trixfred… I am afraid to ask…as the UK is known for blood pudding, haggis and Mad Cow disease…however that Yorkshire pudding rocks!

    (all in jest…I am a huge fan of that half Yank PM of yours…I happen to have many of his First editions, including http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_History_of_the_English-Speaking_Peoples

    I inherited them from my dad, and have read the series twice.

    …and I went to high school with the daughter of that Galloping chef guy…and I will have to say…he gave me a few good tips on omelets!)

  4. Andrew says:

    Oh, and Mathew…I forgot…I do love your beer reviews. I have often said “The best beer is free beer.”

    If I can afford it, I prefer a nice IPA and a few Coors Light on a hot Saturday in the yard…

    I love beer, but I don’t need it, so I try for quality over buzz factor…most of the time…

Leave a Reply

