Meatloaf

Meatloaf:

Far too many people make meatloaf using that “onion soup mix” which I find intolerable and a poor excuse for a meatloaf.

I’m using straight 80/20 ground chuck here but often use a pork/beef mix.  I also like to use two eggs.  Most of the flavor and seasoning comes from the can of drained diced tomatoes with chiles. I sometimes give it a hit of salt, garlic powder and ground pepper.

Bread crumbs?

NOPE !!!

I like to use croutons and if they are seasoned, even better.  In this case what I am using is a stuffing mix.  The grocery store that I shop at takes their day old bread, slices it and bakes it into a stuffing mix (sans any flavoring or seasoning). The best part of this stuffing mix is that it contains a lot of different breads. White,wheat,rye,sourdough etc and that is something that is very noticeable whenever I use this stuffing mix in whatever I am making with it.

I hand crumble the croutons/stuffing mix into the other ingredients so that there small chucks of the bread.  It adds a great texture to the meatloaf that I like much better than using bread crumbs.  Also, for a better texture, don’t mush the meat completely into a paste

What????? No meatloaf pan???

Nope, free form all the way !!!

I got tired of the meatloaf stewing in its own juices and never getting nice and crispy the way I like it. (There are several historically classic family battles from my childhood with my siblings as to whose turn it was to get the end cut !!)

Yes, and I do cut as many things as I can in my cast iron skillet pan.  One of the best weapons in the kitchen arsenal.  If yo don’t have one, get one !!!

If you don’t like my meatloaf, try this one:

4 comments on “Meatloaf

  1. Andrew says:

    I woke up hungry, that’s looking good! I have a cast iron pan with the raised grill that I am going to try. I like how it helps facilitate the grease draining from burgers.

    Should you ever offer “Take Out” or “Home Delivery”, may I suggest this song for your marketing jingle,

    But not…

    Sorry, you started it…with the Muppets…

  2. scroungelady says:

    Looks good. I like the combination of breads. The free-form meat loaf can be baked in the oven using the cast iron pan. Either way, the ends will be crisp.

  3. Jan Wooldy says:

    I can’t find the version of skillet meatloaf. My printable copy is wearing out. 2 lbs. ground beef (I use chuck), 1/2 c. bread crumbs, 6 T. onion, 2 eggs 1 c. tomato sauce, 1 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 T. butter, 1/3 c. water, 2 t. mustard, 2 T. Worcestershire sauce. Combine all ingredients except butter, water, mustard, 1/2 c. tomato sauce and Worcestershire sauce. Mix well. Shape into two meat loaves. Melt butter in a skillet and brown meat loaves on both sides. Cover and cook for 25-30 min. over low heat. Mix mustard, 1/2 tomato sauce, water and Worcestershire sauce. Pour over meat loaf. Simmer uncovered 10-15 min. Serves 4-6.

Leave a Reply

