SmashBurger

A new hamburger joint opened up in my area (It’s been here about a year, but I just got around to going to it).

It’s called “Smasburger”

I like burgers.  I like burgers a lot !!

To me, a good burger is a patty and a bun.  That’s really all I need. Maybe a nice shot of horseradish mustard.

Since I was at a “specialty” type burger joint, I decided that  to properly evaluate the burger, I should order something other than just a simple burger.  I ordered the “Spicy Baja” (Pepper jack cheese, guacamole, lettuce, tomato, onion, spicy chipotle mayo and fresh jalapeños on a spicy chipotle bun)

The fries are “shoestring cut” and they are actually hard to eat because they are small.

The chipotle sauce was quite zingy but over all, there wasn’t a whole lot of taste.  I had a much better jalapeno burger at Applebees.

It was a $5.99 burger and the price was right since we had a “buy one, get one” coupon.  If I get another coupon, I might go back just to try a plain burger.

My wife and I both concur that if we are in the mood for going out for a burger, the choice still is Portillios.

We’ve been to Red Robin twice.  This is the kind of place that I think gives burgers a bad name.  Too many choices, too many “things” to pile on .  Kind of like have a salad or a side entree stacked on the burger.

8 comments on “SmashBurger

  1. Andrew says:

    We just had a “5 Guys” open up nearby. It sounds like a similar place. The best burgers, that you pay someone to cook for you, seem to come from either “One of a kind” burger joint/Drive-In’s or a good family tavern. The chains never really do it for me. Instead of paying $6 for a burger and $3 for fries, I can buy a Whopper and fries for $3.50…and add a slice of cheddar at home if I am feeling ‘gourmet’.

    If I want a REAL burger and REAL fries I make ’em myself. They are better, cheaper and I don’t have to deal with clowns…literally and figuratively.

    I have nothing against spending $ on a good meal, but when I do, I want the right atmosphere and setting. I also try to order something that I can’t fix myself or something the place is known for.

    When I travel I especially try to hit local favorites as opposed to hitting the nearest chain. McDonald’s 1/4 pounder with cheese tastes the same in Seattle and Boston, but not the clam chowder’s!

  2. trixfred30 says:

    Don’t have a lot of choice burger-wise in UK. Double Whopper is probably the best but you can also go to a Gourmet Burger but in reality they’re not much better than a standard Mac

    • Matthew W says:

      It’s been a few years since the “mad cow” scare in England, did it really affect the burger world??

      • trixfred30 says:

        No we just got taken out by MacDonalds. We used to have Wimpy but theirs burgers lived up to the name

      • Andrew says:

        Hah…mad cow…I made some smart ass comment on WUWT about the ‘carbon footprint’ of a prion in the microorganism thread the other day…some dude called me out regarding my ‘facts’…sometimes people need to lighten up…my comments were about as silly as the entire ‘Carbon Footprint’ debate…which was my point…

        Regarding the affects on the burger world…don’t forget about E. Coli…the Jack in the Box problems from a decade ago took its toll as well. Thankfully Jack’s ad campaigns entertain. I loved it when Jack described where on the cow they get their meat…intimating that their competitors are using ass meat for their burgers…it was pretty funny.

        Think about that…next time you are enjoying some yummy ‘all natural’ link sausages…Ewe got to love them natural casings!

  3. For the life of me I couldn’t understand why I have missed sooo many of your posts, then I realized! I must have clicked on + or – button by my followers….Jees louise they should really put a warning there for woman to understand the function buttons! lol.
    The hamburger still looks yummy to me….drool.

    • Matthew W says:

      Being female is not an excuse for not understanding how blog functions work.

      I DON’T HAVE A CLUE EITHER !!!

      I haven’t spent very much time trying to learn all the “tricks of the trade” for running a blog. Simple is best for me !

      I do thank you for stopping in and reading !

Leave a Reply

