Appliance Down !!

So about two weeks ago while busy working on filing my Federal taxes, the wife yells out “The microwave is out.”  So I push the buttons a few times, open and close the door, unplugged and plugged it back in and even swore at it. (What else could I have done?)

Sure enough, the microwave was non functioning.  I remember having bought that microwave just before I got married and moved into our house.  I pulled a sticker off of the microwave saying that it had been built in May 1992.  Just under 20 years.

For Christmas, I gave my wife the new toaster oven.

https://bacontime.wordpress.com/2012/01/15/trading-therms-for-kwh/

With the microwave now gone, I thought that would be a good opportunity to “have less stuff” in my house.  All we ever do with the microwave is reheat stuff and make popcorn.  I could save a few bucks by not replacing the dead appliance and have more kitchen space.

It took about two weeks for even me to realize that we really need have gotten really dependent on that contraption !!

So, I found a small new microwave at Kohls that was normally $120 but  on sale for $60.

4 comments on “Appliance Down !!

  1. trixfred30 says:

    I don’t get the old one looks like the new one? Or does the new one look like the old one. And the toaster oven looks like a microwave – what do you do with a toaster oven – don;t have those in England (i mean apart from toasting bread)

    • Matthew W says:

      In the first photo, the microwave is on top, and the new one is on the bottom. It’s definitely lighter and smaller then then the old one.

      The toaster oven can be used for many of the same things that are done in the gas cooker, just that sometimes it takes longer to heat/pre heat the oven then it does to actually cook the food so the toaster is quicker an convenient. (make a gosh darn good Christmas present too!!!)

  2. Love a good bargain.. $60!! You’ll get great value on the dollar for that one!

    • Matthew W says:

      I did a little research before I bought this model and there were a few “less than positive ” reviews, but I do think that it should do alright for me !!
      Yes, bargains make (almost) every thing better !!

Leave a Reply

