4 comments on “When “Free” doesn’t mean “Free”

  1. Canadian Performer's Money says:

    I did a post on the “Cash-back” account from Bank of Nova Scotia. To get 1% back, they charge you $14.95 a month. Most people would end up paying more than they got back!

    http://canadianperformersmoney.com/2011/11/12/cash-back/

    I am in two minds though. Most bank accounts, mutual funds, mortgages, car loans etc. have a fee structure and it is up to the consumer to pay attention to these fees. One way to enjoy bank fees, is to buy a few shares of bank stocks and then enjoy the quarterly dividends those fees pay out.

  2. Matthew W says:

    Thanks for stopping by !!!

    I always support “Caveat Emptor” in the business world.

    I am almost 50 years old and I don’t recall ever having to pay any annual fee for the privilege of using “their” card !! (since I pay my credit cards off monthly, I don’t care what the terms and interest is)

    Personal finances have changed greatly in the past 50 years particularly just the economic knowledge that too many consumers don’t have. Too many people have no idea how to mange their own money.

Leave a Reply

