Lunch for Week XII

UPDATE :

The good news is that lunch is not ruined.  It has a heavy vinegar taste, but will do for this week !

 

The week of leftover lunches were interesting, but it’s nice to get back to some spicy Chinese !!

Now, that looks like a lot of chicken but it isn’t really too much considering there is probably only a total of 6 thighs and it is for 4 lunches.  I did accidentally take more out of the freezer then I wanted to, but decided to cook it all any way !!

There was a very good sale on “Black Friday” at my grocery store and one of the things that I bought was a “name brand” can of baby corn  instead of the cheapest one that I can find.  What a difference it made when I opened the can and emptied the contents into the strainer !!!.  Each ear was the same length and same girth, not just a random bunch of stuff in the can !  It will most likely taste the same and I don’t mind using the stems and stalks in the lunches, but if I were preparing a meal for others, I might have to go with the name brand as presentation is almost as important ast the taste.  And my lunch experience is mostly just about filling my pie hole until dinner.

Despite this looking like a lot of chicken, when I spooned out equal portions into my lunch containers, there wasn’t too much.  My lunch is quite a bit less than what you would buy for take out and a Chinese restaurant.  And I will be keeping the sauce and chicken separate as to keep as mush of the fried, crunchy goodness that I can !

I have ruined a bit of food by “experimenting” or altering a recipe.  Today, I thought I would try adding a little rice wine vinegar into the sauce.  And don’t you know that I dumped too much in !!!.  I tried to compensate by adding another package of sauce.  I did not sample the sauce yet, so on Monday at 11:15 am when my food comes out of the microwave at work, I will find out how it is !

Leave a Reply

