A College Flashback !!

So, my 18 year old washing machine died.

The repair guy said that it would cost about $260 to fix/replace the motor.

He recommended not to do the repair and to get a new unit.

So meantime, I had to go to the laundromat to get some clothes cleaned .

I don’t think that I have been to a laundromat since college so many years ago !

The best thing about laundromats today is that nobody can smoke there.  I used to hate doing my laundry and leave having it smell smokey.  I was really surprised that there were so many people doing laundry at 9:00 am on a Sunday morning.

There was an interesting sign on the door:Did someone try to wash their dog/cat there???

5 comments on “A College Flashback !!

  1. scroungelady says:

    It looks clean, not like the nasty places I recall from college years ago.

  2. lol! you never know…maybe somebody tried to give their doggy a bath. My friend washed her cat in the washing machine when she was 3 years old, do I need to say more….her mother is still in shock!

  3. trixfred30 says:

    Oh dear God this is my recurring nightmare – Our washing machine is developing random, unspecified ‘issues’. But I will not let it get the better of me. If it doesn;t turn on I take the top offf, get the wife’s hairdryer out and warm up (or maybe its dry out) the electric switches and then give it a good thump and it switches on. Only the drying is taking longer and longer and the thumping is getting harder and harder….

    • Matthew W says:

      I replaced the timer knobby thinger at least three times on my washer (the last being the same day that the washer passed on to appliance heaven) I hate coincidences like that !! Until the knob was replaced, we would have to unplug the washer and careful push and twist until the right cycle was selected, so I too am skilled in the fine art of bodgering !!
      As noted previously, my 20 year old microwave died then my 18 year old washer. I have a 20 year old refrigerator !!!
      Is it a bad omen that this will be my 20th wedding anniversary too?????

Leave a Reply

